About the Journal

Studium is the journal of confessional language studies at Martin Luther College.

Studium fosters the study of the confessional languages at Martin Luther College and in Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod by publishing original, English translations of historic Latin and German resources drawn from the Lutheran tradition in both Europe and the United States.

Studium is published by the students in confessional languages studies at Martin Luther College, New Ulm, MN, along with contributions from MLC alumni who participated in those studies.


Studium seeks to further the study of the confessional languages at Martin Luther College.

To this end, the journal has been adopted by the preseminary faculty as the official publication of the confessional language track. This “track” is an academic program in which preseminary students take courses in both Latin and German, in addition to the required languages Greek and Hebrew.

The creators and editors of Studium believe that a robust confessional language program is essential to maintain quality theological leadership in the Wisconsin Synod. We hope to encourage all confessional language students with this publication. For those considering the enrolling at MLC in the preseminary program, we wish to encourage you to strongly consider putting your skills to use in the study of confessional languages.

Students sometimes question what they are learning by saying, “When am I ever going to use this?” We hope that this journal illustrates that skills in the confessional languages can be used already at MLC, and most certainly beyond the college and into the seminary and the ministry. These skills not only benefit the academic pursuit of the individual, but through a publication like Studium, those skills can be put to use to edify and encourage the entire MLC student body.


The preface to Issue 19 includes a brief history of the publication.

Founding Editors

  • Caleb Bassett
  • Nathaniel Biebert
  • John Derme
  • Benjamin Foxen
  • Kirk Lahmann
  • Souksamay Phetsanghane
  • Joshua Zarling